CHIEF CATERESS

How hard does it get when one is trying not to fall in love? It seems like a whole sort of a sport since most of us seem never to hack it right. Not even myself during the 100th trial.
Yesterday might have been one of my worst days ever. Well at least I am thanking God that I am alive, and what almost attempted to kill me was nothing serious. Just misplaced feelings.
Undeserved effort
Wrong emotional outlet.!
I was meeting Denis’s face to face for the very first time, and I decided to initiate the conversation. You see, I am a very good conversationalist, and that is something that I can’t really hide. I had wanted to know Denis more. Its long since I got close to just anyone, and a guy in this situation.
“Happy birthday Denis!” I declared exuberantly as I headed towards his directions.
Denis had been surrounded by six more guys. They wore such ecstatic faces and had emblem of honor burning inside them. The smiles on faces alluded a very bright Sabbath afternoon. They definitely to me, seemed like a members of an acapella group, from a church in town. Normally, members of such acapellas, are always yearning for a girl to approach them, as they deliberate on close tactics of breaking her heart.
On this particular Sabbath, I had one of my Africa themed dresses on. One that I had bought because of fear of Missing out. Let in not be said, that “How comes, you don’t know that girl from Range SDA who wears short skirts and dresses?”
I was confident, at least they were going to listen to me. One problem though, I was guilty within, I still had not joined any singing group, as promised after my last heartbreak.Lest they asked me to bless them with a chorus!
Why is Denis Standing here with them?
Is Denis part of this choir?
Later on, I would remember Owen telling me that Denis had loved singing since his campus days.
Denis stared at me for a moment before he blurted:
“How did you know that it’s my birthday?”
I definitely had stocked my stalking skills. This time round I wished I could see a blue jay and a cardinal fly by, but nothing was happening.
I looked at him, grinning. He smiled.
At least you could have appreciated that I wished you a happy birthday. I said to myself.
“I just saw that pop in your timeline”
I said to break the awkward silence that was ensuing, and the stares that I was getting from these guys who I now thought I should have said hi to to know who came from South Nyanza and was likely to act up like the deputy pastor and chief chorister.
Since the wave of Covid-19, all churches resorted to go online, and so did our church which I had just started attending. With time, I was going to get to know most of the members. Most of the interactions, including youth meetings happened online. At least the youths were relieved, since they were not expected to carry and arrange chairs when the sun set.
Denis assumed the immediate rank after the youth leader and had been delegated with the duty of making new members feel at church. He made me loathe chivalry as much, up to date. He was the kind who often texted to ask how I was, often left me a message wishing me a good day. At least he was not the kind who filled my inbox with Bible verses every day.
He was not the typical SDA guy, who sent every other link of a song released by Msanii Singing group, or Gifted Ministers, or Gracious Family (Talking about choirs that release songs, when you decide to close your eyes, and breathe in for a second)
The world needs someone they can admire from a distance; from a very far distance.”
― Michael Bassey Johnson
We grew fond. We talked after every minute, and I felt like our souls were getting to connect.
I even started befriending ladies who have had their weddings before, because mine seemed not to be far away. He often retaliated that he does not like Soya, and when I asked him where he came from, and he said Bondo, then I got the answer to my long trail of questions, Like, where did he grow up?
Did he have a grandmother who grounded soya powder herself on Friday as the sun set
Did he have a grandfather who summoned them before him every other Sabbath preparation to ask them to show him, their ironed clothes?
It was all fun as we talked on phone, he was the exact epitome of a gallant man.
I remember one time when I was praying to God for answering my prayers, giving me a man, I had wished to have.
And I could now feel the ardent urge God had to break heavens, to shout down to me the response of the prayer that I rendered to him daily. I felt His urge to let me know that I should find something else to do maybe reconcile with other SDA men, who had promised me heaven but were now singing in the same choir with their wives.
All along, he was one sweet guy, and as time went on. We spent most of our nights talking on phone and laughing out loudly. Maybe my neighbors thought I was running mad, perhaps in the name of love.
Slowly by slowly we started falling for each other’s vibe. We talked about our childhood and joked about our plans that never really came to actualize. He had grown into a doctor now, yet he had dreamt all his life about becoming a renown pilot. I had wanted to be a teacher, and I still was one, prolly growing into a better and happier one.
Today, being a Sabbath, was also Denis’ 27th birthday, and I had planned to throw a surprise birthday party for him at The Elysian Resort (Such a tall order, you know). As I approached him after the sermon to try talk him to head to Runda that afternoon, I knew it would ease my work, he would choose me forever.
“So, guys, this is Wendy, a very good friend of mine. Denis said.
“Good to see you, Wendy. “They all muttered.
“Wendy, all these are members of my wedding committee, and Daisy there, is the bride, (My wife to be)”
Wow, it’s your birthday Denis. I thought to myself. But what was I to do anyway? I volunteered to be the chief cateress in a wedding of a guy I thought was growing to love me, and maybe would eventually marry me. (Let us all laugh at me).

6 thoughts on “CHIEF CATERESS

Leave a comment