DEAR SDA EX

It has been exactly 5 months since you made peace with the fact that I can’t just actually sing in the choir, style my natural hair, roll brown chapattis, and sit patiently by the fireside waiting for beans to boil on a Friday evening, for the potluck on Sabbath. Gone are the long-lost memories that we had, on the days when we could go with books to the park for a book date, because you knew I loved books, and you wanted to please me, the days when you asked to travel to the city for a musical concert, to meet ladies from Lavington SDA church and to the days that you actually lied that you are not committed in any other relationship.
So, for today, I know why you preferred ladies from Lavington SDA to me who stays at home to follow Sabbath services on YouTube. I never had time to style my natural hair. My skater skirts plug often let me down, well, I didn’t have time to travel to Lavington every evening after work for choir practice, because Lavington and Kiambu are literally two worlds apart. Thank God for my friend Josiah who always motivated me to read the lesson with him every single day of the week, because he is those Sabbath school lesson teachers who really ensure that they pass Wednesday when discussing the lesson, and close with a hymn right on time.
I so love the temerity that you upheld when we dated. The audacity to make me trust that you actually never had another girl in your life. Sad that things have become so easy in Nairobi city. If you are a girl dating a Luo man precisely from South Nyanza, from one SDA chaplained boys’ high school, then you actually don’t have trouble knowing who, what, where, when everything happens in their lives. Its way easy.
Simple steps for you therein:
Go to your Facebook, type Kanga School (or whichever SDA school that you know, because KANGA SCHOOL IS KANGA SCHOOL) and wait for the results.
You will actually see a trail of guys in your timeline that you know, who appears to know him.
You will also see a few girls from your village, but who have settled in the city, and attend Lavington SDA church. (That is where you will now start fidgeting with your phone keyboard.)
Get hold of one guy (just one) and ask,
“Do you know Morgan?”
Of course, they will go mum for seconds and blast you with:
“Is he asking you out?”
Many are the times you have tried to be creative and stammered in between the conversation.
“Uhm, not really! We just met in some wedding, and he said Hi!”
“Oh! That is nice. He is a good person.!”
They will always wish you a great evening, because they are doctors and they want to do their evening ward rounds.
Few weeks later, will find you dialing their number again, this time round, with an intense urge to want to know if he is actually seeing someone else, because he has suddenly become an absentee partner.
This time round your resource person will humbly say:
“You mean you were not home when he came with Lynne for the church fundraise?”
He walks with Lynne everywhere like she is his twin. This should have given you a hint long time ago.”
So, you keep quiet for some time, because you rarely go home, and can’t even remember the last event you ever attended at Owich SDA Church in Central Kanyamkago.

On the boil though are alma maters from St Joseph’s Rapogi, though still in larger South Nyanza living in the city. If you are the kind of lady who attends the catholic church, and has come across a jasouth from this school, refer to notes given to SDA ladies above. Lucky if you are in this city and we don’t know your high school denomination (Those from Maranda and Homabay High School).

Things actually went so fast yet so slow.
But this is the only heartache that trails me from our whole dating period.
Long before I knew it, you had gone from Saving my number on your phone as ‘Sunshine’ to my two official names (Diana Aluoch), then to my first name, Diana, then Boom! Diana Oremo (My grandfather’s one and only name). Trust me you the pain disappeared and I remained laughing and wondering what wrong my grandfather did to get dragged into all these, because aiiiiiiii, my father also has a second name and you could still have saved my contact as Diana Agola.Hits hard you know!

Faintly my heart will sing SDA Hymnal (99) (God will take care of You)

Be not dismayed whate’er betide, God will take care of you;
Beneath His wings
Of love abide,

God will take care of you.
God will take care of you,
Through every day:o’er the way;
He will take care of you;
God will take care of you.

54 thoughts on “DEAR SDA EX

  1. babedee03 says:

    I am just out here chilling with my soya and njugu laughing so loud because this piece is everything 😂😂

    At least our “Jo South” SDA men haven’t been left out😂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Anne says:

    Woman AKA “Diana Oremo” from kanyamkago you have made my night 😁😁😁
    Oh and also you’ve made me curious, I definitely want to se your natural hair styled😅😅

    Liked by 1 person

  3. kennedykinyua says:

    I’ll sip my tea 🍵.
    The well schooled gents have decided to give chillez arrythmia. Gents have balls to cheat their woman’s. Lakini akicheat, let him go sis. Your knight in shining armor is still being refined.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Steve Akach says:

    Hahahahah! Ni sisi tu Jo South ndio tuko.
    Awesome piece. Unpopular opinion…I think they should go on breaking your heart. These stories are everything. What would I read without these Kanga boys?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sly says:

    As I started reading this,I had to gather enough fare to get me to the comment section, I mean where are these jasouths??😂😂😂lolz SDA Ex what a piece!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. ustadhngaojoshua says:

    I’m reading this well written article while enjoying a glass of red wine. I don’t know whether to laugh at you 🤣or say sorry . You have even dragged Catholic church in your article. Kudos!! I love the article and your creativity.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Brian Okeja says:

    What a piece! What an article! The fluidity, the liquidity and the flow of the article is seamless. The SDA youthful lifestyle aroma spewed in this work has engulfed my soul with sweet nostalgia. Oh I miss those days.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment